• Florida Tennis League

    The Florida Tennis League was created in 2010 by Newell Fox, John Hamilothoris and Gilles Maillart to fill a need in the North Central Florida area for competitive tennis where all players are guaranteed not only a fair match, but also a voice in league affairs.  “We wanted to make the players feel that they were part of the process” said founder Newell Fox. “We held a draft to create the teams. We expected to have 6 teams, but the response was so great we had to add a seventh just to accommodate the demand”.

    To insure fair play we created rules and a format which encourages all players to perform at their very best each and every time they take to the court”.  Many of the areas’ finest players attended the draft in December, 2009, and over 65 players were placed on one of seven teams. Players came from as far as Jacksonville and Orlando for a chance to be drafted.  The FTL matches were held Saturday afternoons at DB Racquet Club and provided players and spectators alike with exciting, highly competitive tennis. The team, the Ball Busters, captained by Don Blair, finished in first place during the spring regular season play. After the regular season ended, the playoffs were held.

    The draft for the FTL Summer Season was held in May, 2010. Players of all levels were encouraged to sign up, and both a “Major League” and “Minor League” were created.  Eighty-three men participated in the summer FTL season. Congratulations to the summer season winners.

    Regular season:

    Major League team, co-champions: The Love Makers, captained by Brad Feussner, and the Money Ballers, captained by Skip Deist.

    Minor league team, co-champions:  Ballz Deep, captained by Brook Waddell, and the Coolers, captained by Michael Aguirre.

    Major League Tournament of Champions:

    Flight #1 Winners: Don Blair and Glen Marshall

    Flight #2 Winners: Neal Anderson and Jon Vesely

    Flight #3 Winners: Dwight Bailey and William Byrd

    Overall Tournament Champions: The Ball Busters, captained Don Blair, by winning Flights 1 and 2.

    The next draft, for the spring, 2011 season, will be held on Tuesday, January 11, 2011.

    For more information, please visit the FTL website at www.FTL352.com or contact Newell Fox at 352-745-6136.

Comments are closed.