• 2010 Sun All-Area Boys Tennis Teams and Coach of the Year

    From the Gainesville Sun, By Cliff Olsen Correspondent 6/10


    First team:

    Cole Fiegel, Gainesville, freshman: Finished 15-3 for district runner-up Hurricanes; won district title at No. 1 singles to qualify for the Class 3A state finals.

    Erik Vincek, Buchholz, sophomore: Posted an 8-4 record for district champion Bobcats; claimed district crown at No. 1 singles and won a first-round match at the Class 4A state finals.

    Jordan Goldberg, Eastside, senior: Was 14-3 at first singles at No. 1 singles for District 4-3A champion Rams, who reached the Class 3A state finals for the first time since 2003.

    Zach Goldberg, Eastside, freshman: Turned in 17-1 record at No. 2 singles as Rams captured their first district title since 2003.

    Casey Austgen, Buchholz, freshman: Was 8-3 and won the District 1-4A title at No. 2 singles for the Bobcats.

    Justin Garland, Suwannee, senior: Turned in a 9-4 record at No. 1 singles for the Bulldogs; won district tournament to qualify for the Class 2A state finals.

    Second team

    Frazier Springfield, Eastside, sophomore: Won the District 4-3A title at No. 3 singles; ended with a 11-3 record.

    Tyler Werbel, Oak Hall, junior: Was 3-6 at No. 1 singles for District 4-1A champion Eagles; finished as district runner-up.

    Alex Soucek, Buchholz, senior: Turned in a 9-2 record at No. 4 singles; played with Vincek at No. 1 doubles and reached the finals of the Class 4A state tournament.

    Justin Zambelli, Gainesville, sophomore: Posted a 9-2 record at No. 4 singles for the district runner-up Hurricanes.

    Jesse Gordon, Gainesville, junior: Ended with a 12-5 record at No. 2 single for the district runner-up Hurricanes.

    Tim Louthan, Eastside, junior: Finished 13-2 and captured the District 4-3A title at No. 4 singles for the Rams.

    Honorable mention: Alex Vlasak, Buchholz, sophomore; Matt Baranyk, Buchholz, senior; Anthony Broome, Columbia, junior; Shyam Patel, Columbia, junior; Tony Louthan, Eastside, junior; Wes Bryant, Gainesville, senior; Zach Thibault, Oak Hall, junior; Alvin Wang, Oak Hall, senior; Marshall Boggus, Suwannee, senior; T.J. Vickers, Suwannee, senior.

    Coach of the Year: Mike Scott, Eastside

    He guided the Rams to a perfect 13-0 mark in dual matches, which included the first undefeated regular season in his 11 years as coach at Eastside. Scott also steered the Rams to the District 4-3A title, in which they claimed six of the seven positions to easily win the tournament. Eastside also returned to the FHSAA Class 3A state tournament for the first time since 2003, where they placed fifth out of the eight-team field.

    Note: The Gainesville Sun all-area teams, player of the year and coach of the year were selected by Cliff Olsen with help from area coaches. If a team is not represented, it is because the coach did not respond to a fax sent to the school requesting information and numerous reminders in the newspaper.

Comments are closed.